As the prep football season begins to wind down, postseason honors have been announced.

The final All-Mid State football team was announced last week. In included players from Moore, Southmoore and Westmoore.

Lions: Jordan Bernhardy (QB), Tyler Buckles (LB), Casen Haddox (DB), Ryan Lujan (RB).

SaberCats: Houston Tyler (OL), Dakota Haynes (OL), Pierce Speed (RB), Jalen Adams (WR), Jaelon Walker (RB), Tyler Davis (OL), Corey Keyes (LB), Reginald Dantzler Jr. (DB).

Jaguars: Kieron Hardrick (RB), Denver Beebe (LB), Noah Hammons (OL), Ty Watkins (OL), Matt Day (LB), Jacob Tilley (DL), Austin Freeman (LB).

Also announced were the All-District teams and honors. In 6A-4, Tyler was named the Offensive Lineman of the Year while Spead earned Runningback of the Year.

The district MVP was Lawton tailback Michael Warren while mustang’s Frankie Edwards was the offensive Player of the Year.

John Ashcroft (OL) joins Tyler (OL), Haynes (OL), Speed (RB), Adams (WR), Walker (RB), Davis (OL), Keyes (LB) and Dantzler Jr. (DB) on the 6A-4 All-District team.

In 6A-3, Lugan claimed co-runningback of the year with Eisenhower’s Jarvis Jackson. Haddox is the CO-defensive back of the year.

Moore’s Larry Briggs (DE), Buckles, Canaan Cook (OL), Carlton Robertson (WR) and Evan Sprayberry (OLB) made the 6A-3 squad.

Basketball season set to begin: With football season drawing to a close, basketball season is set to open next week.

The Southmoore travels to the Ponca City Festival Wednesday.

Norman North begins its season by hosting Edmond Memorial on Dec. 3, while NHS will host Westmoore. The North girls and the NHS boys both travel to Durant the following weekend for an early-season tournament.

Norman North’s Bri Kuestersteffen is headed to New York City.

The senior was named the Oklahoma representative for the Wendy’s High School Heisman at a ceremony on Thursday and will travel to New York City for the national award ceremony on Dec. 13, a televised event hosted by ESPN. She is one of 12 finalists for the award.

Kuestersteffen, who led the Timberwolves to last year’s state tournament in basketball, stars on the soccer squad and is also involved in her school’s drama program. She plans on playing soccer at UAB next year.

North was awarded $2,000 for Kuestersteffen’s nomination, and will receive another $10,000 if she wins the award. She would win a championship trophy and $500 Wendy’s gift card.

This Week's Circulars