Southmoore High Schools won sweepstakes awards in the Class I division at the annual Southwestern Oklahoma State University Interscholastic Meet held March 25 on the Weatherford campus.

Seventy schools from around Oklahoma competed in the academic contest, which has been a traditional event on the SWOSU campus since 1914. This year's event had more than 1,000 students in attendance. Moore said 2,209 tests were given during the day.

The number of students enrolled in nine through 12 grades determines school class. Schools with 600 or more students are in Class I, 151 to 599 in Class II, and 150 and less in Class III.

School and individual winners also were announced in the nine different categories of competition which were: art, biological sciences, business, computer science, language arts, mathematics, physical sciences, social sciences and technology.

Southmoore High School won first class in biological sciences, mathematics, physical sciences and social sciences.

Southmoore individual winners by classes are: Rustin Wagaman, first, algebra I; Taner Davis, second, algebra II; Richard Dao, second, American government; Richard Dao, first, animal biology; Stephen Ross, second, animal biology; An Hoang, second, chemistry; Kristin Arndt, third, chemistry; Cleon Chai, first, economics; Johnny Tran, second, economics; Tori Jones, first English usage; Bao Ngo, third; general biology; Stephen Ross, second, general science; Colton Ellis, third, general science; Blake Allen, first, geography; Kyle Harney, second, geometry; Elaine Mustain, third, geometry; Jennifer Nguyen, second, HTML and Web page design; Ning Chin, first, modern math; Tori Jones, third, modern math; Elyssa Mann, first, news editing; Brenna Graham, second, Oklahoma history; Ning Chin, second, physics; Bethany Munding, third, Psychology; Colton Ellis, first, sociology; Cleon Chai, first, sociology; Johnny Tran, third, sociology; and Blake Allen, second, world history.

Westmoore High School winners are: Dongjin Lee, second, algebra II; Tiffany Vu, third, algebra II; Jonathan Ryan, first, American government; Rachel Bennett, second, American history; Laura Bennett, second, English usage; Katie Sears, third, English usage; Jacob Nguyen, third, geometry, Jessica Ong, first, physics; Jonathan Ryan, third, physics; Emily Tomberlin, first, plant biology; Brandon Brusenhan, first, Spanish II; Shelby Miller, second, Spanish II; and Jessica Oehrlein, first, world history.

This Week's Circulars

Recommended for you