OKLAHOMA CITY — The Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence announced recipients of its 2015 Academic All-State Awards Monday. One hundred top public high school seniors, selected from 558 nominations statewide, hail from 74 schools in 66 Oklahoma school districts. Among the honorees are six students from local schools.

• Colby Moates, of Moore, attends Moore High School and is the sibling of a previous recipient.

• Nicholas Halterman, of Norman, attends Norman High School.

• Simon Avery Vigil, of Norman, attends Norman High School.

• Wen Yin, of Norman, attends Norman North High School.

• Nicole Hutton, of Oklahoma City, attends Southmoore High School.

• Calvin Miller, of Oklahoma City, attends Westmoore High School.

The 2015 Academic All-State Class is the 29th to be selected by the Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence. Since the award program’s inception in 1987, 2,900 high school seniors from 316 school districts have been named All-State scholars.

Each of this year’s All-Staters will receive a $1,000 merit-based scholarship and a medallion. The All-Staters will be recognized May 16 at the foundation’s 29th annual Academic Awards Banquet at the Renaissance Tulsa Convention Center.

David L. Boren, chairman and founder of the Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence, describes the selection of the scholars as “Oklahoma’s most rigorous academic competition.”

To be nominated for Academic All-State, students must meet one of the following criteria: an American College Test composite score of at least 30; a Scholastic Aptitude Test combined critical reading and math score of at least 1340; or be selected as a semi-finalist for a National Merit, National Achievement or National Hispanic Scholarship.

This year’s All-Staters scored an average of 33 on the ACT, with 10 recipients scoring a perfect 36. In addition, 31 of this year’s All-Staters are National Merit semifinalists, while two are National Hispanic Scholars.

Academic All-Staters are nominated by their principals or superintendents and are selected on the basis of academic achievement, extracurricular activities and community involvement, as well as an essay submitted by each nominee.

The Academic Awards Banquet is open to the public, with admission priced at $50. The awards ceremony will be televised statewide by OETA at 8 p.m. May 23. For more information, call the Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence office at 236-0006 or visit ofe.org.

This Week's Circulars

Recommended for you